Making Some Satellites from Everyday Household Items

So I decided I really wanted some satellites for the scenario in the war rocket rulebook involving the Imperium out to destroy Galacteer early warning satellites in order to invade. But the trouble was… what to make them out of?

I had thought of something Sputnik like but my ideas seemed too fragile.

Then, my sweetheart pointed out something cool!

Raspberry goo

OK yes it’s sweet and raspberry tasting and in packaging that looks appropriate for zero-G eating but why is it relevant to making model satellites?

The Lid!

That lid and bottle neck… that could have some potential….

Step one! Consume the snack! I went with several flavours; some sweeter than others; most not too bad but all very sweet. The raspberry could have been left with more tartness and less apple sweetening.

So with some handy scissors in the laundry (in case of making a mess) I start dissection.

Time to perform an autopsy on this now-drained fruit-goo snack container and see what we have inside….

Pretty simple so far… and oh what is this cool bit of plastic?

Ahh so this is the inner structure, my now that is cool looking.

Ahh so this is the inner structure, now that is cool looking.

Now I just have to peel the foil off and… Ah… it’s stuck solid.

I try peeling the foil off the plastic.. but it's set heard. so I cut away as much of the foil pouch as possible.

I try peeling the foil off the plastic… but its set hard. So I cut away as much of the foil pouch as possible.

Drat, so the foil won’t easily come off the plastic (and by easily I mean at all in the slightest!). But still this can be dealt with. Plan B calls for a little surgery….

4 snips of my sprue cutters removes the cool end piece...

Four snips of my sprue cutters removes the cool end piece…

OK I have a cunning plan….

With careful snipping with the sprue cutters the soft plastic yields and i cut away the foil-clad section

With careful snipping with the sprue cutters the soft plastic yields and I cut away the foil-clad section

Take that you annoying but necessary bonding of foil to plastic nozzle! Have at you!

Ok, all the pieces seperate, now for a quick bit of gluing....

OK, all the pieces separate, now for a quick bit of gluing….

And my foe is swiftly dismembered. Paging Dr Frankenstein…

Within a short few moments I have glued 3 of the dismembered nozzles in a new pleasing satellite shape, and stuck two other lids together given me by a friend (apparently the yellow mushroom shape lid came from  a similar style baby food pouch).

Satellites!

There we go three standard satellites and one fancy one which might also make a nice small manned space station. I’m not sure how well this plastic will take paint being a bit soft, but the plastic colours should still be fine by themselves. Now I just need a couple more snacks and I’ll be ready for the mission!

Nice!

Nice!

Dun-Dun-Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!

One comment on “Making Some Satellites from Everyday Household Items

Leave a Reply

